Hexagon vs. Quadrilateral

By Jaxson

Main Difference

The main difference between Hexagon and Quadrilateral is that the Hexagon is a polygon with six sides and Quadrilateral is a polygon with four sides.

  • Hexagon

    In geometry, a hexagon (from Greek ἕξ hex, “six” and γωνία, gonía, “corner, angle”) is a six sided polygon or 6-gon. The total of the internal angles of any hexagon is 720°.

  • Quadrilateral

    In Euclidean plane geometry, a quadrilateral is a polygon with four edges (or sides) and four vertices or corners. Sometimes, the term quadrangle is used, by analogy with triangle, and sometimes tetragon for consistency with pentagon (5-sided), hexagon (6-sided) and so on.

    The origin of the word “quadrilateral” is the two Latin words quadri, a variant of four, and latus, meaning “side”.

    Quadrilaterals are simple (not self-intersecting) or complex (self-intersecting), also called crossed. Simple quadrilaterals are either convex or concave.

    The interior angles of a simple (and planar) quadrilateral ABCD add up to 360 degrees of arc, that is











    {displaystyle angle A+angle B+angle C+angle D=360^{circ }.}

    This is a special case of the n-gon interior angle sum formula (n − 2) × 180°.

    All non-self-crossing quadrilaterals tile the plane by repeated rotation around the midpoints of their edges.

  • Hexagon (noun)

    A polygon with six sides and six angles.

  • Quadrilateral (noun)

    A polygon with four sides.

  • Quadrilateral (noun)

    An area defended by four fortresses supporting each other.

    “The Venetian quadrilateral comprised Mantua, Peschiera, Verona, and Legnano.”

  • Quadrilateral (adjective)

    having four sides.

  • Hexagon (noun)

    a plane figure with six straight sides and angles.

Oxford Dictionary

Leave a Comment