Chakra vs. Chi

By Jaxson

  • Chakra

    Chakras (Sanskrit: चक्र, IAST: cakra, Pali: cakka, lit. wheel, circle; English: CHUK-, CHAK-rə) are the various focal points in the subtle body used in a variety of ancient meditation practices, collectively denominated as Tantra, or the esoteric or inner traditions of Hinduism.The concept is found in the early traditions of Hinduism. Beliefs differ between the Indian religions, with many Buddhist texts consistently mentioning five chakras, while Hindu sources offer six or even seven. Early Sanskrit texts speak of them both as meditative visualizations combining flowers and mantras and as physical entities in the body. Some modern interpreters speak of them as complexes of electromagnetic variety, the precise degree and variety of which directly arise from a synthetic average of all positive and negative so-called “fields”, thus eventuating the complex Nadi. Within kundalini yoga, the techniques of breath exercises, visualizations, mudras, bandhas, kriyas, and mantras are focused on manipulating the flow of subtle energy through chakras.

  • Chakra (noun)

    Any of (at least more than) seven centres of spiritual energy in the body, according to Ayurveda philosophy.

  • Chi (noun)

    The twenty-second Classical and Modern Greek alphabets.

  • Chi (noun)

    A medicine, etc, related (but not limited) to breath and circulation.

  • Chi (noun)

    The Chinese foot, a traditional Chinese unit of length based on the human forearm.

  • Chi (noun)

    The Chinese unit of length standardized in 1984 as 1/3 of a meter.

  • Chi (noun)

    The Taiwanese unit of length standardized as 10/33 of a meter, identical to the Japanese shaku.

  • Chi (noun)

    The chek or Hong Kong foot, a unit of length standardized as 0.371475 meters.


Leave a Comment